Bangalore North (Lok Sabha constituency)

Posted on

Bengaluru North Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 28 Lok Sabha (lower house of the Indian Parliament) constituencies in the South Indian state of Karnataka. This constituency has been known by different names in its history. For the 1951 and every election since 1977 it has been known as Bengaluru North. For the 1957 and 1962 elections it was known as Bengaluru City. For the 1967 and 1971 elections it formed a constituency jointly with Bengaluru South and was known as Bengaluru. From 1951–73, this constituency resided in Mysuru State. On 1 November 1973, Mysuru State was renamed as Karnataka.[2]

Bengaluru North held its first elections in 1951 and its first member of parliament (MP) was Keshava Iyengar of the Indian National Congress (INC). He was re-elected in the next election in 1957. K. Hanumanthaiya also of the INC represented this constituency for three consecutive terms from 1962

Read More